Program

A Philharmonic Fanfare Eric Ewazen

Currents for Brass Trio and Piano Louis Stewart (World Premiere)

Quartet for Trumpet, Horn, Trombone and Piano Emma Lou Diemer

Intermission

Little Suite Lou Harrison (arr. Weeda)

Pastorale Chorale Quadrille

Trio for Brass Vaclav Nelhybel

Leggiero marcato
Andante moderato

Seven short movements

Molto vivo, con bravura

Andantino

Marcatissimo

Esspressivo

Scherzando (leggiero)

Maestoso

Molto vivo, con bravura

Music for Brass Instruments

Ingolf Dahl

Chorale Fantasy on "Christ Lays in the Bonds of Death"

Intermezzo

Fugue

Save the date for our spring soirée

George Washington Heard This! Sunday, April 2, 2017 @ 4:00 PM Alaska Music & Sound

Featured Artists: Laura Koenig, baroque flute

Dawn Lindsay, violin Linda Ottum, cello

Juliana Osinchuk, harpsichord

This soirée will introduce a "new world" of baroque and classical repertoire written by native born and newly immigrated composers. The program includes works by William Billings, Benjamin Carr, John Christopher Moller, and Francis Hopkinson, a personal friend of George Washington (and whose signature is on the Declaration of Independence)...and Yankee Doodle, of course! Join us afterward for a historically informed reception. Seating is limited.



Young Alaskan Artist Award

Since 2000, the Anchorage Festival of Music has held an annual competition to select a worthy performing Alaskan artist entering the professional field. Winners are presented in a debut recital in addition to receiving a substantial monetary award. Past winners continue to enjoy national and international careers as performers and music educators.

The competition is open to any Alaskan who is at least a college freshman pursuing a college degree or program in music at an accredited institution. Applications will be available soon on our website. More information forthcoming on the AFM Facebook page and website.

Donors

Stars and Stripes (\$1,000 +): Victor Carlson & Jerry McEwen, Eugene & Muriel Furman, Don Endres & Laura Koenig, Corinne & Mike McVee, Gunnar & Alice Knapp

Liberty Bell (\$500-\$999): Helene Cartwright, Karen Hunt, Jim & Flo Rooney, JLOD Music Enterprises, Inc., Karola Moore, Ann & Keith Fernandez, Tim Pearson & Brian Chen

Eagle (\$250-\$499): Gary & Barbara Baugh, Micky Becker

Monument (\$100-\$249): Chris & Beverly Beheim, Corbett Mothe, Lucy Groh, Mark & Tonja Woelber, Rod & Mary Finkle, Sharon Nowak, Sharon Davies, Ian Hartman & Eliza Salvo, Jeri Rubin, Rebecca See, George Stransky

Special Thanks to our Supporters

UAA Department of Music, Anchorage Symphony Orchestra, KLEF, Element Agency

AFM Board of Directors

Corinne McVee, President; Gunnar Knapp, Vice President; Mary Ann Molitor, Treasurer; Juliana Osinchuk, Secretary & YAA Director: Ann Fernandez; Barbara Kagerer; Jeri Rubin

Artistic Director

Laura Koenig

Anchorage Festival of Music P.O. Box 100272 Anchorage, AK 99510-0272 907.276.2465

www.anchoragefestivalofmusic.org





January 8, 2017 at 4:00 PM UAA Recital Hall, Fine Arts Building Anchorage, Alaska